Officially married (in Canada)

Gym-spirationMonday morning I made a few phone calls that I had been meaning to make for a while to people in the UK. First I called Millie who hadn’t been well for some time, and I was very relieved when she picked up the phone. Though she’s still not 100%, she said she was doing better than she was. I told her that we’re probably coming to the UK in May (just before Eurovision) so she’s excited about seeing us. Me too, as it’ll be the first time she’s met Glen.

I then called my mum’s friend, Joanna, as it had been a while between emails. It was nice to hear her voice as usually everything is done by written communication. We had a good catch up and a lot of laughs.

And after I hung up the phone, my grandmother called so we had a bit of a chat. The phone line isn’t the best but it was still nice to hear from her.

Most of the rest of Monday was spent on work. I’m doing two days per week with the zoo back home, which is great for the bank balance and for getting back into the swing of things. Certainly stretching the creative muscles. I also did some other work for another client before heading off to the gym over the road, nearly freezing to death in the process.

On my return I checked the mail and found our marriage certificates waiting for us. I know it’s just a piece of paper, but there’s something pretty wonderful about this legal document that I never thought I’d get. To me, it speaks of acceptance in this country…and comes in stark contrast to Australia’s increasingly backward position on the subject.

In the evening we went to Julian’s to watch the Oscars in fast-forward. We’d seen an hour and a half of it the night before but went to bed because it got late (and it was boring). Julian had recorded it and so we zoomed through most of it, watched Lady Gaga’s excellent Sound of Music tribute and then…the recording stopped well before the end. Julian was very annoyed.

What do you say, eh?

