Editing, bad chicken and Ticket to Ride

For the first time in a long while, I was out of bed before Glen, which meant I had to be quiet. I think I got up at nine and in a small apartment where you can hear everything happening at the opposite end, there’s not a lot that you can do that doesn’t involve noise. When it got to 10:15 though, I thought it was an ok time to make some breakfast. Glen woke up shortly afterwards.

GymI spent a chunk of the day working on the edits sent through from my editor. They weren’t extensive and apart from one bit that’s caused a problem, I got through them all by 1pm. I’ve now printed it out (and killed a tree in the process) so I can do another couple of edits and fix a bunch of things that I want to get done. I need to submit it by 22 January, which gives me a good amount of time (I hope).

I then sorted out the meat that we’d bought the day before at Costco. In an attempt to be healthier and better prepared (don’t you just love that New Year kick up the bum?) I cooked some rice and chicken to freeze for after-gym food. One of the packs of chicken we bought was off, so I had to return that for a refund. I cooked another pack and now have five pre-made chicken-and-rice containers in the freezer. Let’s see how organised I am next week…

Glen and I then went to the gym together (a rarity) and we did the same back workout. It was nice working out together, even if it’s interspersed with Glen’s cries of incredulity at what I ask (not order) him to do. We finished at about 3:30, he went home, and I jumped on the subway (with my off-chicken) and met Julian at Royal York.

We waited in line at Costco for a bit to return the meat. There was a big queue. People return a lot. When we got to the front of the line and said the chicken was off, the woman behind the counter was quick to say, “I don’t want to smell it!” She gave a store credit. We left.

In a fit of spontaneity, Glen and I invited Vince and Cam over for homemade pizzas. They hadn’t been to our place before, and it’s been a good couple of months since we’ve seen them, so we caught up on what we’ve been doing over the busy period. The pizzas turned out great. Glen made the dough this time (his first attempt) and it came out really well. Cam and Vince brought dessert (cupcakes and macarons) and then we sat down to play a game of Ticket to Ride. I like that game, it’s easy and fast and fun — even if Vince did win with some ridiculous number of points hehe.

What do you say, eh?

