Just like old times

Friday I woke up not feeling the greatest. I was still getting over a cold and then when I took some cold and flu tablets my head just turned all fuzzy. Not what anyone wants, especially when you’re expecting more visitors in the evening. First off though, I went to get my haircut at the same place Julian goes. Normally I get a $16 haircut from the place down the road but I thought for the wedding I should get something a bit nicer. It turned out well, though not too different from what I normally get. I think it’s a work in progress.

I went home after that and lay on the couch for a few hours watching TV. I could have napped, but I didn’t. What are you going to do? And then Ben and Dion arrived. They’d flown in from New York that day, sorted out a few errands and then came over about 5pm. Seeing them come out of the lift outside our apartment was another surreal moment. They came in and we caught up on the goss. They’d just done three weeks in North America, seeing some amazing things.

Glen got home close to 6, we ordered pizza, picked it up, got some drinks, came back, ate, then played Ticket to Ride, a board game about trains. Bec, Alastair and Julian came along too while we were playing and we had some more drinks. I won the game (YAY!), and then we sat down and did what we normally do with Ben and Dion: watch Eurovision.

Of course, it was a bit different from back home as they have the whole shows (since 2008 I think) recorded whereas we had to resort to using YouTube and picking our favourites. (Yes, we have favourite Eurovision acts.) Bec and Alastair had gone by this stage but Julian stayed and was exposed to a whole new exciting world. Eurovision isn’t big here like it is in Australia.

The night ended at about 11pm, only because we had big plans the next day. Glad to see that nothing had changed.

What do you say, eh?

