Movie Night: Maleficent

Glen and I went to see Disney’s new version of Maleficent tonight. Pete, Royden and Anna came too. I was a bit apprehensive about seeing it after reading a not-so-good review and then hearing other friends rave about it. Usually, when people say how amazing a movie is my expectations get to be so high that I can’t help but be disappointed.

I’m pleased to say that in this instance, expectations were well met.

Things I loved:

  • Angelina’s comical by-play with other characters, particular when she says to Aurora, ‘I hate you.’
  • awesome world building. They created a fantasy fairy world that looked amazing.
  • great intertextuality with the original Disney cartoon version of Sleeping Beauty. There were some lines taken straight out of the cartoon, but also similar shots. Having watched the film a lot when I was a kid, seeing those scenes retold added something familiar and welcome.
  • a pretty good re-telling from the “villain’s” perspective (though after 16 years of madness, I’m sure Stefan’s subjects would have overthrown him long ago)
  • and a much better, more modern moral for girls than Sleeping Beauty.

There’s not really much else I can say about it. Oh, Lana Del Rey’s version of Once Upon A Dream is sublime.

That’s enough gushing. No doubt it won’t be (or isn’t) everyone’s cup of tea but if you like fairytale¬†retellings that aren’t too full of themselves and are about as close to a kids movie for adults that you can get without being saccharine, it’s worth checking out.

What do you say, eh?

