Our last-but-not-last ice skating lesson

Tonight was a make-up lesson for one of the ice skating lessons we’d missed due to EXTREME COLD WEATHER. It wasn’t as cold by the harbourfront as it had been the week before, so that was a bonus. There were also a few more people in the class than last time and we had two instructors, one being the instructor we had in the very first lesson.

I like her. She’s loud, confident, knows how to skate and how to teach, and is fun in a mad sort of way. We went through T-pushes and how to stop. I learned that I’m too far forward on my skates and need to be more in the middle of my foot. A trick to fix this is to lift my toes, which automatically moves your weight.

Gold medal!I also need to bend my knees more, not be so stiff, hold my shoulders back (not forward), look up, smile, keep my arms out and lift my legs, instead of toe picking.

And remember to breathe.

Despite all this, which sounds daunting, I did manage to get a few good glides in and even though I didn’t achieve the grace of a world-class skater, I came away feeling a bit more confident than last week. We have an exercise we’re supposed to do while holding onto the kitchen counter and throwing ourselves forward to redistribute weight. So if I do that, and a whole heap more practise on the ice, I should improve.

I’m just glad I’m able to get around the ice in one piece without looking too much like a fool. We’re going to Ottawa this weekend to skate on the Rideau Canal so I’m looking forward to that.

The moon and the CN TowerAt the end of our lesson, we were each given a medal of participation. We still have one lesson to make up for so we’ll go again in a couple of weeks. Must get some more practise in before then.

Afterwards we went out for dinner at the Indian restaurant near us and now we’re home relaxing. Glen just played a video of an Irish drag queen talking about homophobia. Incredibly articulate and pinpoints what I—and a lot of gay people—do when in public and that is check to make sure we’re not standing out, that we don’t look gay. And of course, no one should be made to feel like that.

Moving to Toronto has really shown how out of place we feel in Perth. Here we can hold hands in public, even kiss and show affection, whereas back home, we wouldn’t dare hope of being able to do that for fear of getting beat up. I’m sure homophobia is alive and well in Toronto but our experience so far (thank god) has been one of inclusivity or, at worst, lack of interest. Here, we feel just like everybody else.

Watch the video:

One Reply to “Our last-but-not-last ice skating lesson”

What do you say, eh?

