Skating at the harbourfront in minus temperature

We had a gloriously lazy Sunday morning. Well, I did. Glen woke up sometime around 7 and decided he need to go grocery shopping. When he came back, he made a scrummy omelette and turkey bacon. Nom nom nom. And then we went back to be for a few more hours until it was time for him to get ready for work.

We’ve managed to use up our month’s internet usage so we’ve had to turn off the router and resort to using our phones to access the internet. This meant no tv, no researching or playing on the internet. It’s like living in the dark ages. Luckily, it resets at midnight tonight.

After Glen went to work, I figured I’d much rather go outside and do a bit of shopping than stay at home all day. I went to the Eaton Centre and walked through Sears, which is having a closing down sale. Good deals but I didn’t find anything I liked and got overwhelmed by all the choice that I left without buying anything. Instead I bought a down jacket from H&M that was 50% off and might come in handy with the cold weather.

I then went to Bed, Bath & Beyond to buy a curtain rod and some curtains for the bedroom door. Our apartment doesn’t have any covering for the windows so the lights from the condos and office buildings outside keep our apartment pretty well lit in the middle of the night. Our bedroom door is made of frosted glass so that doesn’t help keep it dark.

Now, we have sweet, blessed darkness and I can’t wait to go to bed. I’m sure I’ll have a much better night’s sleep than I’ve had since coming to Toronto. Bring on the darkness!

20140119-204027.jpg

Later in the afternoon, I went to the ice rink at the harbourfront to skate with Adam, Rob, Tim and Vaughan. I think I’m skating a lot better than I have done previously and feel like I’m gliding more than pushing with my toe. The guys were trying out hockey stops and skating backwards (helped by a friend of Rob and Adam’s who was there and does figure skating). I don’t quite feel confident enough to try all that yet, especially as I took a tumble on my knee trying to avoid a child that cut in front of me.

We spent about two hours there and it would been even better with Glen there too. It was very cold about -10 or so, colder with the wind off the lake (which was frozen – the part we saw – and an amazing thing to see). Afterwards, Tim, Vaughan and I went for dinner at Canteen. It was even colder on the walk back to the condo from the subway station, and we’re expecting a really cold week with lots of snow.

I wonder how long before the novelty wears off?

One Reply to “Skating at the harbourfront in minus temperature”

What do you say, eh?

